Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for '1891 in New Zealand': First Liberal Government of New Zealand Head of state January 24 New Zealand general election, 1890 Parliament of New Zealand Victoria of the United Kingdom New Zealand Legislative Council Maurice O'Rorke Speaker of the New Zealand House of Representatives William Steward (New Zealand politician) Harry Atkinson John Balance Prime Minister of New Zealand Minister of Finance (New Zealand) August 31 Chief Justice of New Zealand James Prendergast (judge) John Ballance John Bryce June 23 Leader of the Opposition (New Zealand) New Zealand Liberal Party Sir The Honourable William Rolleston Arthur Winton Brown Charles Matthew Gray Mayor of Auckland Mayor of Christchurch Mayor of Dunedin Mayor of Hamilton, New Zealand Mayor of Wellington Christchurch Phonograph Lake Rotoiti Governor-General of New Zealand William Onslow, 4th Earl of Onslow Diocese of Nelson Anglican Diocese of Auckland Anglican Diocese of Christchurch Anglican Diocese of Dunedin Archbishop of New Zealand August 12 Churchill Julius Diocese of Waiapu Diocese of Wellington Edward Craig Stuart Octavius Hadfield Samuel Tarratt Nevill William Garden Cowie