Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for '1984 British leaders': 1952 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1983 British leaders 1984 1984 in the United Kingdom 1985 1985 British leaders 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1995 Archbishop of Canterbury Archbishop of York Arthur Cockfield, Baron Cockfield British incumbent leaders by year Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Chancellor of the Exchequer Douglas Hurd Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom First Lord of the Treasury Geoffrey Howe George Younger, 4th Viscount Younger of Leckie Grey Ruthven, 2nd Earl of Gowrie Home Secretary James Prior, Baron Prior John Biffen John Habgood, Baron Habgood Keith Joseph Leader of the House of Commons Leon Brittan List of state leaders in 1984 Lord Chancellor Lord President of the Council Lord Privy Seal Margaret Thatcher Michael Heseltine Monarchy of the United Kingdom Nicholas Edwards, Baron Crickhowell Nicholas Ridley, Baron Ridley of Liddesdale Nigel Lawson Norman Fowler Norman Tebbit Prime Minister of the United Kingdom