Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for '1989 British leaders': 1952 1979 1980 1983 1985 1986 1987 1988 1988 British leaders 1989 1989 in the United Kingdom 1990 1990 British leaders 1991 1992 1995 1997 Archbishop of Canterbury Archbishop of York British incumbent leaders by year Cecil Parkinson Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Chancellor of the Exchequer David Waddington, Baron Waddington David Young, Baron Young of Graffham Douglas Hurd Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom First Lord of the Treasury Geoffrey Howe George Younger, 4th Viscount Younger of Leckie Home Secretary James Mackay, Baron Mackay of Clashfern John Ganzoni, 2nd Baron Belstead John Habgood, Baron Habgood John MacGregor, Baron MacGregor of Pulham Market John Major John Moore, Baron Moore of Lower Marsh John Wakeham, Baron Wakeham Kenneth Baker, Baron Baker of Dorking Kenneth Clarke Leader of the House of Commons List of state leaders in 1989 Lord Chancellor Lord President of the Council Lord Privy Seal Malcolm Rifkind Margaret Thatcher Monarchy of the United Kingdom Nicholas Ridley, Baron Ridley of Liddesdale Nigel Lawson