Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Act of Abjuration': 1581 Declaration of independence July 26 Low Countries Philip II of Spain Union of Utrecht Charles V, Holy Roman Emperor Guelders Habsburg Netherlands Pragmatic Sanction of 1549 Seventeen Provinces County of Holland Duchy of Brabant Mary of Burgundy States-General of the Netherlands Dutch Revolt Alexander Farnese, Duke of Parma Fernando Álvarez de Toledo, 3rd Duke of Alba John of Austria Luis de Zúñiga y Requesens Stadtholder Pacification of Ghent Matthias, Holy Roman Emperor Union of Arras William the Silent François, Duke of Anjou Treaty of Plessis-les-Tours Abjuration Ghent Goes Mechelen Pensionary States of Brabant Thomas Jefferson United States Declaration of Independence Monarchomachs Philippe de Mornay Vindiciae contra tyrannos French Fury Elizabeth I of England Treaty of Nonsuch Robert Dudley, 1st Earl of Leicester Drenthe Groningen (province) Overijssel Secession States of Flanders Turncoat Dutch Republic Dutch Empire