Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Administrative counties of England': Subdivisions of England Local Government Act 1888 Local Government Act 1972 Metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties of England Historic counties of England Administrative county County council England and Wales Robert Cecil, 3rd Marquess of Salisbury Unitary authorities of England Cambridgeshire Lincolnshire Northamptonshire Quarter Sessions Suffolk Sussex Yorkshire County of London Inner London Hampshire Isle of Wight Municipal borough Rural district Urban district Local Government Act 1894 Derbyshire Leicestershire Measham Bristol Gloucestershire River Avon (Bristol) Somerset Monmouthshire (historic) Local Government Act 1933 Shire Berkshire 1959 April 1 Ceremonial counties of England County town Chester Castle (civil parish) Chester Rural District Greater London Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames Suburb Urbanization Sanitary district Banbury Mossley Tamworth