Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Anglo-Spanish War (1585)': Kingdom of England Earl of Leicester Netherlands States-General of the Netherlands Cádiz English Armada Spanish Armada Brittany Nine Years' War (Ireland) James I of England Philip III of Spain Treaty of London (1604) Treasury Catholic Church Philip II of Spain Church of England Elizabeth I of England Mass (liturgy) Protestantism Mary I of Scotland Atlantic Ocean Privateer Spanish Main Caribbean History of slavery John Hawkins Smuggling Battle of San Juan de Ulúa Francis Drake Mexico Veracruz, Veracruz Monopoly Dutch Revolt French Wars of Religion Catholic League (French) Second Desmond Rebellion Treaty of Nonsuch Cartagena, Colombia Florida Santo Domingo St. Augustine, Florida Dutch Republic February 8 July 29 Pope Pius V Spanish Armada in Ireland Pope Sixtus V France He blew with His winds, and they were scattered A Coruña