Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Coat of arms of Sussex': Coat of arms Historic counties of England Sussex County council East Sussex Martlet West Sussex Atlas John Speed Anglo-Saxons Heptarchy Kingdom of Sussex Herald Middle Ages Anachronism Heraldry County Durham Essex Kent Middlesex Northumberland Yeomanry Administrative county Local Government Act 1888 1889 College of Arms May 18 Henry Fitzalan-Howard, 15th Duke of Norfolk Blazon Lewes Cinque Ports Pevensey September 10 England Local Government Act 1972 Wales Non-metropolitan county 1975 January 14 Surrey August 29 Brighton County borough Eastbourne Hastings 1969 May 30 Sussex Police Sussex County Cricket Club List of English counties' coats of arms