Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'County council': County 19th century Countries of the United Kingdom England Local Government Act 1888 Quarter Sessions Alderman Administrative counties of England County borough County corporate Rural district Urban district Local Government Act 1929 Greater London Council London County Council London Government Act 1963 Middlesex Cambridgeshire and Isle of Ely Huntingdon and Peterborough Local Government Commission for England (1958–1967) Local Government Act 1972 Districts of England Greater London Metropolitan county Metropolitan borough Local Government Commission for England (1992) Avon (county) Berkshire Cleveland, England Hereford and Worcester Humberside Worcestershire Isle of Wight Herefordshire 2009 structural changes to local government in England Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 Bedfordshire Cheshire Local government in Wales Wales Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 Local Government Act 1958 Local Government Commission for Wales Monmouthshire Scotland Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889 Local Government (Scotland) Act 1929 Local government areas of Scotland 1973 to 1996 Subdivisions of Scotland Commissioner of Supply