Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Dutch Republic': Europe Netherlands Republic Succession of states Count Duchy Holy Roman Empire Low Countries Prince-Bishop Belgium France Germany Luxembourg Charles V, Holy Roman Emperor House of Habsburg Philip II of Spain Pragmatic Sanction of 1549 Centralisation Decentralization Protestantism William the Silent Eighty Years' War Union of Utrecht Act of Abjuration François, Duke of Anjou 1584 Elizabeth I of England Henry III of France July 10 Protectorate Robert Dudley, 1st Earl of Leicester Treaty of Nonsuch Dutch Golden Age Cargo ship Dutch Empire Timeline of international trade Stock market Amsterdam Rotterdam Batavian Republic Kingdom of Holland Peace of Westphalia Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1814 Buffer state Liège Southern Netherlands United Kingdom of the Netherlands Kingdom of the Netherlands Confederation Generality Lands