Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Dutch Revolt': Low Countries Seventeen Provinces Spanish Empire Eighty Years' War Netherlands William the Silent Republic Secession Capture of Brielle De facto De jure Dutch Republic Belgium France Luxembourg Nord-Pas-de-Calais Southern Netherlands Cardinal Richelieu Louis XIII of France Dutch Empire Duke of Burgundy Charles V, Holy Roman Emperor Duchy of Burgundy Ghent Aragon Spanish colonization of the Americas Habsburg Monarchy Holy Roman Emperor Charles, Duke of Guelders Friesland Guelders Pier Gerlofs Donia Flanders Entrepreneur Italian Wars Mediterranean Sea Ottoman Empire Germany Protestantism Heresy Philip II of Spain Aristocracy (class) Brussels Guild Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Utrecht Stadtholder Utrecht (city) Vredenburg (castle) Dutch Council of State Mary of Austria (1505–1558)