Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Economic Community of Central African States': Central Africa Common external tariff Customs union Free trade area French language CFA franc Economic integration June 1999 1983 Burundi Democratic Republic of the Congo Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries October 18 Rwanda São Tomé and Príncipe Angola Great Lakes History of the Democratic Republic of the Congo War African Economic Community Formal Trade bloc 1998 February 6 Libreville Pierre Buyoya Head of government Head of state Budget French franc United Nations Economic Commission for Africa Embargo List of Presidents of Burundi 1999 Gabon Inauguration January 21 Omar Bongo Cameroon Central African Republic Chad Equatorial Guinea Republic of the Congo Currency union Malabo 2003 European Union January 24 Operation Artemis Peacekeeping