Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'European Coal and Steel Community': Cold War European Union Supranationalism 1950 May 9 Minister of Foreign Affairs (France) Robert Schuman Belgium Benelux France Italy Luxembourg Netherlands Treaty of Paris (1951) West Germany Coal Single market Steel High Authority of the European Coal and Steel Community Institutions of the European Union European Economic Community European Community Gaullism Prime Minister of France Ruhr Saar (protectorate) Communism National Assembly of France International Authority for the Ruhr Europe Day Schuman Declaration Jean Monnet French-German enmity United States of Europe Karl Arnold Social Democratic Party of Germany Konrad Adenauer Kurt Schumacher Carlo Schmid (German politician) André Philip Paul Reynaud Charles de Gaulle Raymond Aron Rally for France Inner Six European Atomic Energy Community Treaties of Rome Customs union Nuclear power Council of the European Union