Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Hispanic American wars of independence': 1808 1829 Hispanic America Spanish Empire Argentina Chile Junta (Peninsular War) Mexico Mexico City Montevideo Peninsular War 1898 Cuba Puerto Rico Spain under the Restoration Spanish–American War Motherland Civil war Brazil Haiti Latin American wars of independence Napoleon I of France Age of Enlightenment American Revolution Atlantic Revolutions French Revolution Bourbon Reforms Peninsulares Captaincy General of Cuba Viceroyalty of New Spain Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata Rebellion of Túpac Amaru II Revolt of the Comuneros (New Granada) Viceroyalty of New Granada Viceroyalty of Peru Economics Physiocrats Enlightenment Spain Joseph Bonaparte Entrepôt Council of Castile Audiencia Captaincy Governorate Intendant Realm Viceroy Cabildo (council) Quito Sucre