Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'List of rural and urban districts in England in 1973': 1974 April 1 England Local Government Act 1972 Municipal borough Rural district Urban district 1894 County borough Birkenhead Chester County Borough of Stockport Wallasey County Borough of Carlisle Exeter Plymouth Torbay Darlington (borough) Gateshead Hartlepool (borough) South Shields Teesside Brighton Eastbourne Hastings Southend-on-Sea Bristol Gloucester Bournemouth Portsmouth Southampton Canterbury Barrow-in-Furness Blackburn Blackpool Bolton Bootle Burnley Bury County Borough of Salford Liverpool Manchester Oldham Preston Rochdale Southport St Helens, Merseyside Warrington Wigan Leicester