Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'May 1958 crisis': Charles de Gaulle France 1958 Algiers Chamber of Deputies Coup d'état Edmond Jouhaud Jacques Massu Jacques Soustelle May 13 Pierre Lagaillarde Raoul Salan French Algeria Pierre Pflimlin French Fifth Republic French Fourth Republic Pied-Noir Battle of Dien Bien Phu Gaullism René Coty May 15 May 19 Corsica May 24 May 29 State of emergency June 1 National Assembly of France Ordinance Constitution of France Michel Debré Bicameralism Executive (government) Presidential system François Mitterrand French constitutional referendum, 1958 September 28 Department (administrative division) French Union French Community Guinea French nationality law Indirect election President of France Dwight D. Eisenhower France – Germany relations Konrad Adenauer 16 May 1877 crisis French Third Republic Michel Winock