Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Monmouthshire (historic)': Historic counties of Wales Local government in Wales Wales Blaenau Gwent Caerphilly County Borough Monmouthshire Newport Rhymney River Torfaen 18th century Coal mining England Laws in Wales Acts 1535–1542 Welsh Marches Bristol Channel Glamorgan Gloucestershire River Wye Brecknockshire Herefordshire Enclave and exclave Welsh Bicknor Counties (Detached Parts) Act 1844 Vale of Ewyas Abergavenny (hundred) Borough Caldicot (hundred) Hundred (country subdivision) Raglan (hundred) Skenfrith (hundred) Usk (hundred) Wentloog (hundred) Municipal borough Municipal Corporations Act 1835 Unreformed boroughs in England and Wales 1835–1886 Local board of health Public Health Act 1875 Sanitary district Administrative county County council Local Government Act 1888 Beaufort, Ebbw Vale Llechryd County town County borough Shire Hall, Newport Local Government Act 1894 Rural district Urban district Bedwas and Machen