Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Non-metropolitan county': England Metropolitan and non-metropolitan counties of England Metropolitan county Historic counties of England Shire Staffordshire Wiltshire Devon County French language Old English Tautology (rhetoric) Administrative counties of England County borough Municipal borough Rural district Urban district 1974 April 1 Greater London Local Government Act 1972 Non-metropolitan district County council Teesside Hereford and Worcester High Sheriff Lord Lieutenant Postal counties of the United Kingdom Royal Mail Local Government Commission for England (1992) Unitary authority Statutory Instrument Berkshire Ceremonial counties of England Lieutenancies Act 1997 2009 structural changes to local government in England Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 Local government in Wales ISO 3166-2:GB Avon (county) Boothferry (district) Buckinghamshire County Council Constitutional status of Cornwall County Durham and Darlington Fire and Rescue Service Courteenhall Cumbria Cumbria Fire and Rescue Service Cumbrian MPs Essex Act 1987