Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Orange River Sovereignty': Orange River Vaal River Free State Orange Free State South Africa 1845 Cape Colony October 8 Resident (title) 1846 Bloemfontein Henry Douglas Warden January 16 1848 February 3 Sir Harry Smith, 1st Baronet Basotho Lesotho Moshoeshoe I Andries Pretorius Sand River Convention Transvaal 1852 Henry Green (British Resident) July 3 George Russell Clerk 1854 February 23 Orange River Convention March 11 Republic Griqualand East Cornelius Hermanus Wessels Presidents of the Orange Free State Joseph Allison Josias Philip Hoffman Frederick Thomas Green Jacobus Groenendaal Orange River (Disambiguation) List of extinct states