Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Siege of Vicksburg': American Civil War Vicksburg Campaign Army of the Tennessee Confederate States Army John C. Pemberton Major general (United States) Mississippi River Ulysses S. Grant Union Army Vicksburg, Mississippi Siege of Port Hudson Battle of Gettysburg Turning point of the American Civil War Trans-Mississippi Theater of the American Civil War Independence Day (United States) Battle of Jackson (MS) Battle of Port Gibson Battle of Raymond Mississippi Battle of Big Black River Bridge Battle of Champion Hill William Tecumseh Sherman Big Black River Yazoo River Grand Gulf Department of the West Joseph E. Johnston Investment (military) Northern United States Lunette (fortification) Redoubt XIII Corps (Union Army) John Alexander McClernand XV Corps (Union Army) XVII Corps (Union Army) Army of Mississippi Carter L. Stevenson John Horace Forney John S. Bowen Martin Luther Smith Abatis Louis Hébert (Confederate Army officer) Francis Preston Blair, Jr. Hardtack David Dixon Porter James M. Tuttle Giles Alexander Smith Thomas Kilby Smith Frederick Steele Thomas E. G. Ransom