Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Stadtholder': Crowned republic Dutch language Dutch Republic Head of state Low Countries Steward (office) Doge Lord Lieutenant Feudalism Middle Ages Fiefdom Vassal Belgium Counts and Dukes of Guelders Groningen (province) Luxembourg Netherlands Seventeen Provinces Burgundian Netherlands Duke of Burgundy Charles V, Holy Roman Emperor Holy Roman Emperor House of Habsburg Imperial Circle Prince-Bishopric of Liège Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Utrecht Philip II of Spain Absolutism (European history) Act of Abjuration Dutch Revolt Burgomaster Co-option Prince of Orange Zeeland Captain General Eighty Years' War Maurice of Nassau, Prince of Orange William II, Prince of Orange William the Silent William III of England Rampjaar First Stadtholderless Period Second Stadtholderless Period Friesland William IV, Prince of Orange Patriots (faction) States of Holland and West Friesland Peacekeeping Prussia William V, Prince of Orange