Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'States of Germany': Federated state Federation German language Germany Law of Germany Nation Right of abode Berlin Bremen Bremen (state) Bremerhaven Hamburg City-state German Reich World War II Austria Constitution of Austria States of Austria Weimar Constitution Holy Roman Empire Kleinstaaterei Napoleonic Wars Unification of Germany Administrative division of Nazi Germany Administrative division of Weimar Germany Enabling act World War I Allied-occupied Germany Baden-Württemberg South Baden West Germany Württemberg-Baden Württemberg-Hohenzollern Saarland De jure Administrative divisions of the German Democratic Republic East Germany 1990 German reunification New federal states October 3 East Berlin Basic Law for the Federal Republic of Germany Free state (government) Bundesrat of Germany Constitution Cabinet (government) Diet (assembly) Landtag Legislature