Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Sussex': England Historic counties of England Kingdom of Sussex Old English South East England South Saxons Brighton and Hove East Sussex English Channel Hampshire Kent Surrey West Sussex City status in the United Kingdom Unitary authority Chichester Quarter Sessions Administrative counties of England County borough Eastbourne Hastings Local Government Act 1888 Ceremonial counties of England Lord Lieutenant Sussex by the Sea Coat of arms of Sussex Martlet Floral emblem Phyteuma June 16 Richard of Chichester Weald South Downs River Rother (Eastern) Rye, East Sussex North Downs Greensand Ridge Ashdown Forest Crawley St Leonard's Forest Blackdown, Sussex Crowborough Folkestone Ironwork Petersfield Beachy Head Ditchling Beacon Conurbation Bexhill Bognor Regis