Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Territory of Hawaii': 1898 1959 August 21 Hawaii July 7 Organized incorporated territories of the United States United States Kingdom of Hawaii Newlands Resolution Republic of Hawaii United States Congress Martial law Annexation Committee of Safety (Hawaii) Liliuokalani Lorrin A. Thurston Provisional Government of Hawaii Ka'iulani Washington, D.C. Benjamin Harrison Grover Cleveland Morgan Report Honolulu Sanford B. Dole American Civil War William McKinley Cuba Philippines Puerto Rico Flag of the United States Washington Place Flag of Hawaii ʻIolani Palace John Tyler Morgan Robert R. Hitt Shelby Moore Cullom Walter F. Frear Hawaiian Organic Act Political party Bicameralism Charles J. McCarthy Election George R. Carter Hawaii House of Representatives Hawaii Senate Ingram Stainback Joseph Poindexter Lawrence M. Judd Lucius E. Pinkham Oren E. Long