Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'William the Silent': Dutch Republic Eighty Years' War Netherlands House of Nassau Nassau (state) House of Orange-Nassau Prince of Orange House of Habsburg Margaret of Parma Nobility Southern Netherlands Political power Protestantism Assassination Balthasar Gérard Delft Outlaw Dutch Council of State Dillenburg Germany Juliana of Stolberg Lutheranism William I, Count of Nassau-Dillenburg Adolf of Nassau Henry of Nassau-Dillenburg John VI, Count of Nassau-Dillenburg Louis of Nassau René of Châlon Charles V, Holy Roman Emperor Brussels List of Governors of the Habsburg Netherlands Mary of Austria (1505–1558) Seventeen Provinces 1551 Anna van Egmont Buren July 6 Captain (land) Cavalry Council of State Philip II of Spain 1558 March 24 Justinus van Nassau Legitimacy (law) Duke of Burgundy Holland Stadtholder Utrecht (province) Zeeland